Meet Skylight Intern James Allen

College: Miami University (Oxford, OH)

Why did you want to intern at Skylight?

With my past internships, I became interested in personal finance and financial services. The firm I worked at was really small and I thought Skylight would be the perfect opportunity for me to see the industry on a larger scale.

Tell us something you are really good at?

I like to say I am good at meeting people and being able to relate to anyone. I have met a lot of people in college and value every relationship I have made. I focus on reconnecting with my friends that have graduated and friends from high school on a monthly basis to catch up on how they are doing.

A fun fact about you:

My icebreaker fact that I typically use is that I was born with a hole in my heart because it sounds serious and its something that typically stands out, even though the surgery was minor. One of my hobbies that not everyone knows about me is cooking. I learn a lot from my mom and my job in high school as a chef.

Your favorite place to hang out in Cleveland or Columbus:

Anything with sports; I was born and raised in Cleveland and would be at every Tribe or Cavs game if possible. Love the West Side Market and hanging out on the lake or in the metro parks.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

In the summer I golf as much as possible. If I have a free weekend I will typically be at my family’s summer home in central Ohio.

What’s the most adventurous thing you’ve ever done?

This winter term I went to London on a study abroad program through Miami. It was the farthest I have been away from home and first time overseas. I did not go with many people I knew so it was a good experience to meet more students and experience a new culture.

Who would you most like to meet – alive or dead?

I think I would most like to hang with Jack Johnson. He is my favorite musician and lives a lifestyle that I would love to live. I’m sure he has some great stories to tell and would love to have him play some songs while surfing or something like that.

Where do you want to be 10 years from now?

10 years from now I want to be in the process of moving out of Cleveland to somewhere in the south, maybe the Carolinas. I will be working in the financial industry but only time will tell where exactly I find my niche.